The Rider

My name is Bree and I am a 20-something year old West Australian. I started riding at the age of 6 when I was taught by my best friends mum. I made my brother ride the bigger, scary pony Penny (side note: Penny was still at pony club when I attended more than 10 years later teaching kids to ride. She was horrible but really took care of her charges!) and I rode the lovely little Shetland called Pickles.

From the age of 12 I took weekly lessons where I learnt the basics and as a teenager I cleaned stables in exchange for riding. At 16 my riding school shut down and while my dad swore I wasn't allowed a horse until I could pay for it myself, I discovered you could lease a horse. My parents allowed me to run with this dream and I have never looked back!

Over the years I leased several horses, most notably Pete an older thoroughbred gentleman who gave me a love for eventing. I went to pony club and became very involved, eventually becoming a coach. I have been in musical rides, a section of 4, state competitions, been on committees and been that person that helps new riders find their way. I remember what it was like to be the new to horses person!

Pete and I 

At 21 I bought my first horse, a green un-raced thoroughbred. We went out and competed, did pony club and some other fun stuff, but our relationship was like a bad marriage. He taught me a lot though! He now events with his new owner.
Snoopy at one of his first outings!

I bought Coolie to gain some confidence back, and he is my wonder horse. I love him to bits and he will never leave my care. Together we have competed up to 95cm and trained to go higher. We have had so much fun adventuring together.

I love eventing, all things horses, and am a bit of a perfectionist. I struggle to balance a full time job, a husband, the care of 2 horses, property maintenance and keeping my house clean (clean house is a low priority!). I am not as brave as I would like, but I am pretty dedicated to improve myself as a rider.

I am very lucky to have the support of my husband who helps out so much, and doesn't question why I put so much money and effort into these animals, and my parents who let me keep the horses at their place.
Home dam

Horse care and comfort is one of my main priorities, as is good, solid training. I have a wonderful coach who pushes me to be a better rider and gives me amazing opportunities to train with some really incredible people.

Basically I am a crazy horse person! Except I also have a cat, a bird, and 2 dogs...
Crazy is about right!


Popular Posts